Introspection – The Hero’s Journey –

Minimalist series representing the 12 stages of the Hero's Journey


“The Hero’s Journey”

  1. The Ordinary World
  2. The Call to Adventure
  3. Refusal of the call
  4. Meeting with the mentor
  5. Crossing the threshold
  6. Tests, allies and enemies
  7. Approaching the cave
  8. The supreme test
  9. The reward
  10. The way back
  11. Resurrection
  12. Return with the elixir

This concept of hero's journey was defined in 1949 by a certain Joseph Campbell in the very famous “The Hero with a Thousand and One Faces”.

After analyzing a number of writings on heroes around the world, Joseph Campbell concluded that almost all “monomyths” (Hero's Journeys) share the same structure, at the origin of 17 stages.
Later, a producer and screenwriter, Christopher Vogler reduced the structure to 12 steps, more easily integrated into cinema, integrating some of Campbell's steps into his own.

error: © Vladimir Kar
Share This